4 Comments

In Which Jack Gets ‘Rescued’ from the Island

In August 2010, I found myself shipwrecked on a deserted island with nothing to do but wait for the tide to bring me crates of oranges, bandannas, and CDs.

Then I got picked up by a boat. I expect real life will soon be intruding. Family members to get reacquainted with. Work to go back to. The world’s most powerful sunburn lotion to discover. A year and a half of unpaid parking tickets for leaving my car in a “no parking between 7am and 6pm” spot.

Those sorts of things.

—Jack Hunter

Driftwood is ending its year-and-a-half run as a publication as of tonight. We want to thank everyone for giving us so much music to listen to, the artists and their agents and labels for being so accommodating during our tenure, the writers for contributing their time for nothing more than a copy of a CD and sometimes not even that, and especially the hundreds of readers who showed up each day to check out what we had to say about stuff that was sometimes really unusual. Regretably, real life has interfered in the free time of many of the volunteer writers and editors that made Driftwood possible.

Our articles will be archived at this web address for as long as we can justify renewing the domain. It seems unlikely, however, that we will resume publication.

—Jack H, Jon P, and Paul H (editors and editors emeritus)

4 comments on “In Which Jack Gets ‘Rescued’ from the Island

  1. Very sorry indeed that you couldn’t make it work. I will miss the articles and reviews.

  2. As with DIRTY LINEN’s disappearance from newsstands the world over, DRIFTWOOD MAGAZINE’s online remaining archives will leave ghost pains of great song gab gone by. If the musicians and indie record label staff haven’t properly appreciated your efforts, let me speak on behalf of my own resentful self for adding value to the work of others lo these many years, often taking the process of listening to records and gigs then refining the notes and impressions into a piece that might hopefully catalyze reflection, thought and discussion more seriously then paying jobs in the days I had one. The heroic editors here, Jack and Jon (Paul & Su of folded LINEN Emeritus status) have my admiration and undying respect. The resentment that kept creeping in is actually for again (post-LINEN) recognizing how few of those narcisisstic artists being given a serious listen, how few of their legion of pesky and labor-intensive get-something-for-nothing paid publicists expressed much in the way of reciprocal valuing of this forum for song-lovers in particular and what’s left of the Music Press in general.

    Music can be downloaded directly now from artists’ websites or band camp or online merchants or cloud services. Good luck all ye artistes finding anyone to lend youse
    an ear, building a sustainable niche audience or directing anyone to your cloud sites!

    Song-lovers will always keep meeting in bars, basements, cafes, church cellars, community centers, living rooms and lofts wherever bohos gather to schmooze with or about their muses. I’ll miss DRIFTWOOD MAGAZINE cause Jack & Jon published all the muses fit to print!
    Mixed Up Mitch

  3. Mitch,

    I know I’ve said this before, but I’ve found artists and their agents to be nothing but appreciative of our efforts. I certainly understand your frustration, but we are not closing up shop because we felt unappreciated (& certainly not me … I would have written about most of this music even if I thought no one was reading). I can also say as an artist who’s received a small amount of press coverage that it’s difficult to promote your press clippings to fans and followers who already know whether or not they like you. There’s only so many times you can repost a review without seeming like you’re selling something, and you don’t want to give people a bad taste in their mouth for the indie blog, too. 🙂

    -Jon

  4. I am really sorry to hear this. I looked forward to reading your reviews. Found some Great music that I would not have otherwise been exposed to. Not all of it was music I liked, but I tested the waters and stepped out of my comfort zone. The benefit was surprises and finding unexpected treasures as well. I miss Dirty Linen terribly as well. Thanks for being there (here) as brief as it was. I enjoyed it and will miss reading you! Frances

Leave a comment