Leave a comment

A Shipwreck, a Laptop, and a Crate Full of Music: How Driftwood Came to Be

The Shipwreck

I had been taken a nap on the bow of my boat, under an umbrella with my toes sticking out into the sun, when my pleasant trip out onto the bay was rudely interrupted by the biggest waves and strongest winds I’ve ever seen. There I was, holding onto the mast for dear life, while the boat was picked up by a waterspout and carried for miles.

I don’t know how long it kept me aloft, spinning mercilessly. I soon learned to walk in a counterclockwise circle to avoid getting dizzy, but it was no time at all before I lost all sense of direction and location.

Then the wind abated, the wave shrank, and it deposited me on this little island where you now find me. Plop! Right into the sand.

Digging through the boat’s wreckage, I found that my laptop was undamaged, as were much of the rations, and the beer, and the solar charger for the boat’s emergency generator.  The GPS is shot, though. And Google maps is no help without an address. (I’ve tried “desert island to Baltimore, MD,” with no relevant luck.) The boat, in fact, might still be seaworthy with a patch here or there. If only it wasn’t 50 yards from the shore.

So I set up camp here on the beach. And waited.

The Gulfstream

It was not long before I discovered that the island lay right in the midst of a gulf stream current. The first crate was full of oranges. The second was full of the prettiest yellow bandannas (though I would rather have had bananas). And the third was full of CDs.

Hundreds of them.

Well, what was I going to do with that?

There was a time when a man shipwrecked on a desert island would go crazy for lack of communication. Now he can run a magazine on the internet. Fortunately, I knew a some people who had once run a wonderful music magazine who could help out from afar.

The Real Adventure

In Driftwood music magazine, you will find reviews of new sounds from all over the world. This week we will introduce you to albums from Ireland, England, Latvia, Norway, Brazil, and the U.S. We’ll start things off today with a feature article about Derroll Adams—including a rare photograph from the legendary performer’s later years in Europe—by a wonderful songwriter in his own right, Tom Russell, and a feature review of Solas’s latest album, Turn the Tide.

Driftwood is a magazine on a rolling publication schedule. Some things will appear at about the same time each month. But we will have something new to read almost every day. To keep up with the latest, you can subscribe by e-mail or RSS feed in the lower right hand corner of our home page.

And you can talk back to us. We’d love to hear from the music community and the artists’ fans in our comments section.

Special thanks go to: Paul Hartman, formerly of Dirty Linen, whose guidance was invaluable during the weeks leading up to the magazine’s launch; the writers who kindly donate the article you will read; and my copy editor, Jon Patton.

There is a lot of wonderful music in the world. Let’s discover it together.

Driftwood icon

Jack Hunter, Editor-in-Chief
Driftwood music magazine
Rock • Roots • Folk • World
Baltimore, MD

Leave a Reply

